Icelandic Composer Daníel Bjarnason Announces New Album

Critically-acclaimed Icelandic composer Daníel Bjarnason will be releasing Over Light Earth, the followup to his applauded 2010 release Processions, on September 30.

The new album features three major works including a piece commissioned and premiered by the Los Angeles Philharmonic. Included on the album is Bjarnason’s first piano concerto “Solitudes” featuring electronic additions courtesy of Valgeir Sigurðsson and Ben Frost.

Those seeking to hear more of Bjarnason’s eerily orchestrated works should check out the collaborative project SÓLARIS between Bedroom Community labelmate Ben Frost and himself.

Full tracklist of Over Light Earth:

Over Light Earth I. Over Light Earth

Over Light Earth II. Number 1, 1949

Emergence I. Silence

Emergence II. Black Breathing

Emergence III. Emergence

Solitudes I. Holy

Solitudes II. Dance Around In Your Bones

Solitudes III. Echo & Pre-Echo

Solitudes IV. Selge Ruh

Solitudes V. T’aint No Sin

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , on by .

Thank you for joining our mailing list. Please check your email for a confirmation link.